Vegetarian and Vegan Product Review #3 – Newman’s Own Organic Licorice

A Delicious Vegetarian Friendly Licorice Treat

Newman’s Own Organic Licorice Vegetarian & Vegan Product Review #3 – There has been some controversy as to whether or not Twizzlers is a vegetarian/vegan friendly food.  Twizzlers contains Glycerin, which could be animal based since it does not state whether it is from an animal or vegetable source.   I have searched the internet high and low to try to discover the ingredients in Hershey’s Twizzlers.  On the internet, I found the 5 main ingredients in Twizzlers  Corn Syrup, Wheat Flour, Sugar, Cornstarch, Contains 2% or less of….

I purchased a package of Twizzlers to get the rest of the ingredients which are:  Palm Oil, Salt, Artificial Flavor, Mono- And Diglycerides; Citric Acid; Potassium Sorbate, Artificial Color (RED 40); Sulfur Dioxide, Mineral Oil; Soy Lecithin; Glycerin.

Twizzlers also makes a “Pull n’ Peel” and here are the ingredients:  Corn Syrup, Enriched Wheat Flour (Flour, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, and Folic Acid); Sugar; Contains 2% or less of Palm Oil; Glyceryl Monostearate, Salt, Cornstarch, Glycerin, natural and artificial flavor, citric acid, potassium sorbate, artificial color (RED 40), sulfur dioxide.

From what I have researched, PETA has stated that Twizzlers is a vegan candy.  I would do more research because in both of these Twizzler products, that are a couple of ingredients that are in question.  As the Vegetarian Resource Group as noted, Glycerin (or Glycerine) can be animal or vegetable based.  In packaged foods and candy it is commonly a mix of animal and vegetable based. Unless on the package, it states that the glycerin is vegetable based, I would err on the side of caution.  The same is the case for Glyceryl and  mono and diglycerides. These common food additives can be animal based (hog or cow), vegetable, or can by synthetically manufactured.

Until this question has been answered for sure, I encourage you to give Newman’s Own Organics Licorice for your  rope candy fix.  One thing’s for sure, Newman’s Own Licorice is made with organic ingredients and is positively vegetarian and vegan friendly and best of all, you can pronounce all of the ingredients that make this delicious treat.  This licorice snack contains vegetable glycerin and unlink Hershey’s Twizzlers, it states that the glycerin source is vegetable.  Newman’s Own Organic Licorice comes in 4 different flavors:  Black, Strawberry, Tangerine, and Pomegranate.

I must say, Pomegranate is my favorite, but all the other flavors or tied for 2nd.  I really like that fact that this licorice has natural fruit flavors and that you can splurge on 5 pieces and only consume 0.5 grams of fat!  That rocks!

You have to got to let me know which flavor is your favorite.  I paid about $2.69 per pack for Newman’s Own Organic Licorice and I purchased them from Earth Fare. If you have an Earth Fare near you, then they should have it there.  Let us know if you were able to find this delicious licorice any where else.

Until Next Time,

Take Care

EJ,

P.S. – Have you grabbed your free vegetarian videos and free vegetarian cookbook?  If not, then make sure you enter your name and email address in the form below to receive your free vegetarian and vegan gifts!

Tags: , , , <BR/>
Share

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Was really wanting a twizzlers replacement, but if it has corn syrup, and pretty much all corn in the US is GMO, I’d not be surprised if its a GMO product:/ This sucks.

nice to find u.

Thank u for the info. Very useful.

Rope makers commonly relish confusing us with science and/or extraordinary polysyllabic
names. I am able to try to cut through the guff a little.

TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

(required)

(required)




  •  



All content © 2010 Vegetarian Like Me

Blog design by Splendid Sparrow